Image

Q&A with DC based musician Justin Trawick

16 Nov

Q&A: Meet Musician Justin Trawick

11.13.11
MARLENE HALL – @UVA96
Justin-Trawick-2011-11-165

Meet Justin Trawick.

He is living the dream as a full-time musician. He was raised — and is based — in Northern Virginia. He can usually be seen playing at Iota in Clarendon, Madam’s Organ in Adam’s Morgan or at famous summer festivals, like this year’s HFstival.

This week, he shares with Glittarazzi what its like to actually pursue your dream as a musician.


When did you decide to pursue music full time as a career?

“I had always dreamed of being a full time musician, but like many musicians, I was too afraid of quitting my job and losing my steady paycheck. The decision was actually made for me in 2008 when I got laid off from my day job. For anyone including me, the feeling of being laid off is downright horrible, but a few days later that horrible feeling subsided and was in turn exchanged for a feeling of excitement in finally being able to pursue music fulltime. I haven’t had a real “day job” since.”

What has been the highlight of your career so far?

“When you eventually start getting contacted to do things without asking for it, the feeling is amazing. My band got asked by CBS this year to play the famous HFStival. For being one of the most famous festivals in DC as well as to be asked by CBS to play really made me feel like I was finally doing something right.”

Justin continues, “And of course, finding out that I was on the same bill as the Avett Brothers, Flogging Molly, Dr. Dogg, and the Gin Blossoms made me run around the house in celebration like a ADD kid who ate too many Sour Patch Kids.”

What big things are on the horizon for you?

“I’m about to release my fifth record, which is a live, in-studio, acoustic album featuring my mandolin player Josh Himmelsbach and my friend Flex Mathews who freestyle raps on two songs.”

Justin reveals, “These songs were recorded the old fashioned way, standing around a few mics completely unplugged just like old Johnny Cash and Elvis recordings. Many of the songs on this record have never been previously recorded and the others are favorites from past records arranged differently for this acoustic album. The addition of a rapper on a primarily roots oriented album is something that I think will make this record stand out.”

Justin continues, “Aside from my own music, I also run a traveling series called “The 9”. I started “The 9” back in 2008 which features 9 songwriters on one evening doing two short sets each…a concert for the ADD crowd. I run this series in DC, Arlington, Richmond, Charlottesville, Rockville, Baltimore, Philly, and NYC.”

What music has influenced your style?

“I learned guitar by trying to play along with the radio (DC101) back when I was 13. In high school I actually joined the “Loudoun Bluegrass Association” which was a bluegrass jam session meet-up held at a retirement home near my house. I was the youngest guy there by at least 20 years and it’s a big reason why I have a lot of Americana in my music.”

How do you write your music?

“I usually come up with chords and a melody first and put lyrics to it. Often the chorus part of the lyrics gets written first. My ideas often come to me at odd or inopportune times…3am in the morning or when I’m supposed to be getting ready for dinner with my parents, something like that. When I was in high school and college I would write when I was in class or when I was supposed to be studying. When I had a day job I often kept a Word document open on my computer that I would flip to every once in a while to type an idea down.”

What musical venues do you recommend Washingtonians check out and why?

“I owe a lot to IOTA in Arlington and its owners Stephen and Jane. It’s where I got my start and where I headline with my band. It’s a family run venue and they treat musician that play there the same, like family. Besides IOTA, I’m a fan of the 9:30 Club, Birchmere, State Theatre, Blues Alley, and Jammin’ Java. The Clydes Restaurant Group is opening “The Hamilton LIVE” in January and will be a beautiful seven day a week music venue. It’s going to be really awesome.”


Get more Justin!

Leave a comment